Please support your state and local Rhode Island historic societies!  This list is of historical societies and preservation societies only, and is not a complete list of historical sites and museums.  The most prominent of them are listed in the top row, and the rest are in alphabetical order in the bottom row.  If a society lacks a website, contact information can be found after performing a Google or other online search.  Please let us know of any additions or corrections that we should make.

Rhode Island Historical Society (www.rihs.org)

Newport Historical Society (www.newporthistory.org)

Slater Mill Historic Site (www.slatermill.org)

Pettaquamscutt Historical Society (www.pettaquamscutt.org)

Preservation Society of Newport County (www.newportmansions.org)

Providence Preservation Society (www.ppsri.org)

Providence Public Library (http://provlibdigital.org/)

Preserve Rhode Island (www.preserveri.org)

Barrington Preservation Society (www.barringtonpreservation.org)

Blackstone Valley Historical Society (www.bvhsri.org)

Block Island Historical Society (http://blockislandhistorical.org/)

Bristol Historical & Preservation Society (www.bhpsri.org)

Burrillville Historical and Preservation Society (www.bhps.org)

Charlestown Historical Association (www.charlestownhistorical.org)

Coventry Historical Society (www.coventryri.com/chs1.htm)

Cranston Historical Society, Governor Sprague Mansion (www.cranstonhistoricalsociety.org)

East Greenwich Historic Preservation Society (www.eghistoricpreservation.org)

East Providence Historical Society, John Hunt House Museum (www.ephist.org)

Exeter Historical Society (www.ehaweb.blogspot.com)

Foster Preservation Society (www.fosterpreservationsociety.org)

Glocester Heritage Society (www.glocesterheritagesociety.org)

Herreshoff Maritime Museum (www.herreshoff.org)

Historical Society of Smithfield (www.smithapplebyhouse.org)

Hopkinton Historical Society (www.hopkintonhistoricalassociation.org)

The Italian American Historical Society of Rhode Island (www.iahsofri)

Jamestown Historical Society (www.jamestownhistoricalsociety.org)

Johnston Historical Society (www.johnstonhistorical.org)

Little Compton Historical Society (www.littlecompton.org)

Massasoit Historical Association (Warren) (www.massasoithistorical.org)

Middletown Historical Society (www.middletownhistory.org)

Narragansett Historical Society (www.narragansetthistoricalsociety.com)

Newport Restoration Foundation (www.newportrestoration.org)

North Smithfield Heritage Association (www.nsmithfield.org) (click on town links)

Pawtuxet Valley Preservation and Historical Society (www.pvhistorian.com)

Portsmouth Historical Society (www.portsmouthhistorical.com)

Preservation Society of Pawtucket (www.pawtucketpreservation.com)

Prudence Island Historical & Preservation Society (www.prudencehistory.com)

Rhode Island Black Heritage Society (www.ribhs.org)

Rhode Island Genealogical Society (www.rigensoc.org)

Rhode Island Jewish Historic Association (www.rijha.org)

Rhode Island Marine Archaeology Project (www.rimap.org)

Richmond Historical Society (www.richmondhistoricalsociety.org)

Tiverton Historical Society (www.tivertonhistorical.com)

Varnum Memorial Armory and Varnum House Museum (www.varnumcontinentals.org)

Warren Preservation Society www.preservewarren.org

Warwick Historical Society (www.warwickhistoricalsocietyonline.org)

West Greenwich Historical Preservation Society (www.louttitlibrary.org/historicalsociety.htm)

Westerly Historical Society (www.westerlyhistoricalsociety.org)

The Western Rhode Island Civic Historical Society (www.westernrihistory.org)

Woonsocket Historical and Preservation Society (www.woonsockethistorical.org)